"Agreeable to an act of the Legislature of the State of Mich., passed Feb. 14, 1837, and approved March 11, 1837, organizing surveyed townships Nos. 3 and 4 north, of range 6 west, and townships Nos. 3 and 4 north, of range 5 west, in Eaton County, in said State, a town, with township privileges, under the name of Vermontville, the electors met at the town-house in said Vermontville, agreeably to previous notice, on the first Monday in April, and organized said meeting by choosing Samuel Selden, Esq., moderator, and S. S. Church township clerk, who administered the oath prescribed by law to each other, when proclamation was made of the organization of said meeting. 1. 1. 1. 1.

"2d. The ballots being taken for supervisor, Orin Dickinson was duly elected.

"3. S. S. Church was then chosen township clerk.

"4th. S. S. Church, Samuel Selden, and John Hart elected assessors.

"5th. Walter S. Fairfield was elected collector and constable.

"6th. Elected S. S. Church and Bezaleel Taft directors of the poor.

"7th. Elected Orin Dickinson, Jay Hawkins, and Bezaleel Taft road commissioners.

"8th. Elected Franklin Hawkins poormaster.

"9th. Elected Reuben Sanford, Levi Merrill, Jr., and Sidney B. Gates fence-viewers.

"10th. Elected Jacob Fuller, Harvey Williams, and Samuel S. Hoyt overseers of highways.

"llth. Elected Orin Dickinson, John Hart, and Levi Merrill, Jr., school inspectors.

"12th. Elected Samuel Selden, S. S. Church, Samuel C. S. Hoyt, and Orin Dickinson justices of the peace.

"13th. Orin Dickinson for the term of one year, S. S. Church for two years, Samuel S. Hoyt for three years, and Samuel Selden for four years.

"14th. Voted, To raise the sum of two hundred dollars on the